Skip Navigation

Wisconsin Alum Nelson Tansu elected as Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI): Nelson Tansu

Wisconsin Alumus Nelson Tansu has been elected as Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). Tansu received his BS degree (AMEP – Applied Mathematics, Engineering, and Physics; 1998) and PhD degree (Electrical Engineering; 2003) from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Tansu is the Daniel E. ’39 and Patricia M. Smith Endowed Chair Professor at Lehigh University, where he also serves as the Director for Center for Photonics and Nanoelectronics. Tansu was also the recipient of the Harold Petersen Award from the ECE department (given for Best Dissertation Award) in 2003, and he was the recipient of the “2010 Wisconsin Forward Under 40” award from the Wisconsin Alumni Association.

Election to NAI Fellow status is “the highest professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.”

More Alumni Notes

Join us for Recent-Grad Weekend on campus June 7–8 for two days packed with all-inclusive summertime fun. Register now before it sells out!