Skip Navigation

Forward Award

The Forward Award (formerly the Forward under 40 Award) acknowledges rising stars in various fields who exemplify the Wisconsin Idea through an emphasis on service, discovery, and progress. Young alumni within 15 years of graduation who have demonstrated exceptional early-career achievement and a positive impact on their professions or communities are eligible for this award.

Congratulations to the 2022 Forward Award Recipients

Erika Dickerson-Despenza ’15

Anthony Heddlesten ’07

Cavalier Johnson ’09

Katie Lorenz ’12

David O'Connor ’05 MS’13

Maria Ontiveros ’12

Danez Smith ’12

Past Award Recipients

WAA Stories